新宿区 Shinjuku City

Menu
Current Page
Shinjuku City Official Website > Foreign Language Top Page > Living > About Garbage and Recyclable Resource Collection during the Year-End/New Year’s Period

About Garbage and Recyclable Resource Collection during the Year-End/New Year’s Period

★ Combustible garbage will be collected on January 5 (Sun.) in the Tuesday and Friday districts.
Collection will not be conducted between December 31 (Tue.) and January 3 (Fri.).

Take your garbage and recyclable resources to the designated collection site by 8 a.m. on the collection day. Please note that collection times during the period at the end and beginning of the year may be different than the usual time due to traffic conditions and the amount of garbage.

Inquiries Shinjuku Waste Collection Office (Tel: 03-3950-2923, Fax: 03-3950-2932)
Shinjuku-Higashi Waste Collection Center (Tel: 03-3353-9471, Fax: 03-3353-9505)
Kabukicho Waste Collection Center (Tel: 03-3200-5339, Fax: 03-5272-3494)

Year-End/New Year’s Garbage and Recyclable Resource Collection Schedule

Collection Schedule for the District Last Collection Day First Collection Day
Recyclable papers (newspapers, magazines, cardboards, paper cartons)
Plastic containers and packaging materials
Bottles, cans, PET bottles, spray cans, cassette gas cylinders, batteries
Mondays December 30 (Mon.) January 6 (Mon.)
Tuesdays December 24 (Tue.) January 7 (Tue.)
Wednesdays December 25 (Wed.) January 8 (Wed.)
Thursdays December 26 (Thu.) January 9 (Thu.)
Fridays December 27 (Fri.) January 10 (Fri.)
Saturdays December 28 (Sat.) January 4 (Sat.)
Combustible Garbage Mondays and Thursdays December 30 (Mon.) January 6 (Mon.)
Tuesdays and Fridays December 27 (Fri.) January 5 (Sun.)
Wednesdays and Saturdays December 28 (Sat.) January 4 (Sat.)
Metal, Ceramic, Glass First and Third Mondays December 16 (Mon.) January 6 (Mon.)
First and Third Tuesdays December 17 (Tue.) January 7 (Tue.)
First and Third Wednesdays December 18 (Wed.) January 15 (Wed.)
First and Third Thursdays December 19 (Thu.) January 16 (Thu.)
First and Third Fridays December 20 (Fri.) January 17 (Fri.)
First and Third Saturdays December 21 (Sat.) January 4 (Sat.)
Second and Fourth Mondays December 23 (Mon.) January 13 (Mon.)
Second and Fourth Tuesdays December 24 (Tue.) January 14 (Tue.)
Second and Fourth Wednesdays December 25 (Wed.) January 8 (Wed.)
Second and Fourth Thursdays December 26 (Thu.) January 9 (Thu.)
Second and Fourth Fridays December 27(Fri.) January 10 (Fri.)
Second and Fourth Saturdays December 28 (Sat.) January 11 (Sat.)

Collection in districts whose collection day falls on January 13 (a Monday, Coming-of-Age Day) will be conducted as usual.

Oversized garbage from households, etc. The Oversized Garbage Reception Center (Tel: 03-5296-7000) and Electric Appliance Recycling Acceptance Center (Tel: 03-5296-7200) will be closed from December 29 (Sat.) to January 3 (Thu.).
Note: They will also not be processing applications for oversized garbage and items covered by the Home Appliance Recycling Law via the Internet.

December 5, 2019